Logo Icon

Results Matter

Todd A. Smith
Todd A. Smith

Contact Me:

Practice Areas:

  • Personal Injury
  • Class Action



Born and raised in Evanston Ill. Todd Smith has won some of the largest multi-million dollar jury awards and settlements in serious personal injury, product liability, wrongful death, and medical malpractice cases in Illinois. He often represents regular working men and women-people who are finding it harder to get access to the court system.

As one of the top trial lawyers in Illinois, Todd Smith, a founding partner in Smith LaCien LLP, regularly confronts powerful corporations, insurance companies, hospitals, and government agencies on behalf of everyday people. He has achieved more than $2 billion in settlements and verdicts, and has attained more than 100 settlements and verdicts that exceed $1 million.

"Early in my career, I learned that working to have a deep understanding of a client's situation would lead to more effective representation," Todd said. "I try to help clients during their most vulnerable time while seeking new ways to bring them relief and justice."

Todd has been a trial lawyer his entire legal career, beginning in the criminal felony courts of the Circuit Court of Cook County as an assistant public defender. Upon leaving that office, he joined the injury firm of Philip H. Corboy & Associates. In 1993, he left that firm to join Joseph A. Power, Jr. and Larry R. Rogers, Sr., as a founding partner in the law firm of Power Rogers & Smith, P.C.

Awards and Honors
Todd has been included in "The Best Lawyers in America" annually since 1995. He was designated as their "Lawyer of the Year for Personal Injury Litigation" in 2019, "Medical Malpractice Lawyer of the Year" in 2012, and "Mass Tort Lawyer of the Year" in 2011. He has repeatedly been listed at or near the top of the Chicago Lawyer magazine survey of multimillion-dollar personal injury settlements, including his listing as the top lawyer with $70 million in recovery for his clients. He is a member of the Inner Circle of Advocates, an exclusive group of 100 of the best civil trial lawyers in the U.S.

Todd received his B.A. from Kansas University, his M.B.A. from Northwestern University, and his J.D. from Loyola University of Chicago. He is the recipient of the "Medal of Excellence" from his alma mater, Loyola University Chicago School of Law and also received the "Damen Award in Law," a university-wide recognition from Loyola. From the American Association of Justice, he received the "Lifetime Achievement Award" in 2009 and their highest honor, the Ring award, in 2015. He is an elected member of the International Society of Barristers, the American College of Trial Lawyers, and the International Academy of Trial Lawyers. In 2015, he received the Illinois State Bar Association's "Distinguished Award for Excellence."

As a result of his success for his clients, Todd has been featured in numerous publications including Chicago Lawyer Magazine, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Sun-Times, USA Today, Chicago Magazine, and the New York Times, among others. 

Bar Leadership
His bar leadership has included service as president of the Illinois State Bar Association, Association of Trial Lawyers of America (the world's largest trial lawyers organization), and the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association.


  • Loyola University Chicago School of Law, Chicago, Illinois
    • J.D.
    • Honors: Recipient of the “Medal of Excellence”
    • Honors: Damen Award in Law
  • Kansas University
    • B.A.
  • Northwestern University
    • M.B.A.

Professional Associations

  • Illinois State Bar Association, President
  • Association of Trial Lawyers of America
  • Illinois Trial Lawyers Association
  • American College of Trial Lawyers
  • International Society of Barristers, Elected member

Current Employment Position

  • Founding Partner

Past Positions

  • Philip H. Corboy & Associates
  • Power Rogers & Smith, P.C., Founding partner


  • Lifetime Achievement Award, American Association of Justice, 2009
  • Ring award, 2015
  • Illinois State Bar Association’s “Distinguished Award for Excellence, 2015
  • The Best Lawyers in America since 1995
  • Lawyer of the Year for Personal Injury Litigation, 2019
  • Medical Malpractice Lawyer of the Year, 2012
  • Mass Tort Lawyer of the Year, 2011